Wolfpack Football All-ACC Performers Recognized

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) unveiled their All-ACC Football team for the 2015 season earlier this week, and the Pack has a few guys who deserve the recognition.

Sophomore Tight End Jaylen Samuels was recognized as a first team performer, as was RS Senior Offensive Tackle Joe Thuney.

RS Senior Defensive End Mike Rose landed a spot on the All-ACC second team.

The Wolfpack also landed Bra’lon Cherry (JR, SP), Matt Dayes (JR, RB), Nyheim Hines (FR, SP) and Quinton Schooly (SR, C) on the honorable mention offense.

Congratulations, boys!!!

Wolfpack Lands Two on First-Team All-ACC Squad (GoPack.com)

Thuney, a graduate student from Centerville, Ohio, finished ACC play with no sacks allowed this season and was consistently the Wolfpack offensive line’s high grader. He played every single snap versus ACC competition this season (except for a take-a-knee snap at the end of the Wake Forest contest).

A first-team Academic All-ACC performer in 2014, Thuney is the first Wolfpack offensive lineman to earn first-team all-conference honors since 2003.

Samuels ranks third in the ACC with 14 touchdowns in 2015, tied as the fourth-highest single season mark in school history.  He leads the Wolfpack with 64 receptions, also the fourth-highest mark in the league.  Samuels leads all tight ends nationally in receptions, and is tied for fourth nationally among tight ends with seeven TD catches – he also has seven rushing scores this season. The Charlotte native finished third on the team in rushing (by a single yard), averaging 5.9 yards per rush.

This marks the first time since 2013 that NC State had a pair of offensive players named to the conference’s first-team. In 2003, NC State placed Jerricho Cotchery (WR), Sean Locklear (OL) and Philip Rivers (QB) on the first-team.

ACSMA Announces 2015 All-ACC Football Teams (TheACC.com)

Clemson and eighth-ranked North Carolina, which will meet in the 2015 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship game on Saturday night in Charlotte, North Carolina, fill a combined 31 spots on the All-ACC first, second and third teams.
The Atlantic Division champion Tigers lead with 17 selections, including six on the first team.  The Coastal Division champion Tar Heels saw 13 players claim 14 spots, with junior Ryan Switzer chosen as both a second-team specialist and a third-team wide receiver.
Florida State had 12 total selections, and was second to Clemson in first-team selections with four.
The All-ACC first-team offensive unit includes the conference’s top two rushers in Cook and North Carolina’s Elijah Hood (1,280 yards and 16 touchdowns), as well as the top two leaders in receptions in Pitt’s Tyler Boyd (85 catches for 873 yards) and Clemson’s Artavis Scott (77 catches for 709 yards).
Also included among the first-team receiving corps are Virginia Tech’s Isaiah Ford, who leads all ACC wideouts with 10 touchdown catches and 937 receiving yards, and NC State tight end Jaylen Samuels (64 receptions, 599 yards and seven touchdowns).

Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney was named ACC Coach of the Year, while Pitt’s Jordan Whitehead (FR, SS) was named ACC Rookie of the Year.