Dereck Whittenburg, ACC Tournament Legend!

AWESOME honor for Dereck!

Whitt probably could justify this honor on the back of a single half of basketball – his semi-finals performance vs UNC in 1983.

I know that Lorenzo Charles has already been named Tournament Legend, so this now at least 2 off of our 1983 Championship team.

Others joining Whitt on this year’s roster in include former ACC Commissioner, Gene Corrigan; Clemson’s Terrell McIntyre; Duke’s Trajan Langdon; Georgia Tech’s Mark Price; Maryland’s Gary Williams; UNC’s Mike O’Koren; and Wake Forest’s Carl Tacy.

About StateFans

'StateFansNation' is the shared profile used by any/all of the dozen or so authors that contribute to the blog. You may not always agree with us, but you will have little doubt about where we stand on most issues. Please follow us on Twitter and FaceBook

ACC Alums College Basketball NCS Basketball Tradition

4 Responses to Dereck Whittenburg, ACC Tournament Legend!

  1. Anthony Grundy 01/31/2013 at 1:16 PM #

    Any ACC tournament ledgend list that excludes Randolph Childress needs be re-though.

  2. StateFans 01/31/2013 at 1:49 PM #

    Uhhhh…each team gets one legend each year. Randolph Childress was actually Wake Forest’s designee just last season.

  3. wolfbuff 01/31/2013 at 3:26 PM #

    Great honor for Derek. I’m sure he’ll be tweeting about it!

    Mike O’Koren is my all-time most despised Hole. Hated that guy then; residual hate lingers today.

  4. 61Packer 01/31/2013 at 3:30 PM #

    Would somebody please tell me how 4 little-known players who never played in the ACC suddenly become, with a whiff of the Swofford wand, ACC Legends?

    I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply