I want to share some highlights from a phone conversation that I had earlier today. The conversation revolved around interpretation of the following NCAA requirement for placing teams with a 6-6 record into bowl games: (Thanks to RAWFS for the link to current NCAA requirements.)
In the case of a conference contractual affiliation, all conference teams with winning records must be placed in one of the contracted bowl games before any institution with a record of six wins and six losses may be placed in a contracted bowl game.
The meaning of this requirement appears to be very clear to me. However, I was told that some people (who should know) have heard alternate interpretations of the “7-win rule.” The alternate interpretation is that the quoted rule applies to at-large bowl bids and not to conference affiliated bowls.
So who is correct?
The purpose of this entry is two-fold:
– I wanted to let everyone know that the chances of State going somewhere other than Boise with a 6-6 record MAY be better than I led you to believe earlier this week.
– I also wanted to ask for help from our broad readership on clarifying this rule. If you know of an example from last year or have any additional information relating to this issue, would you please let us know in the comments section?
– If you have information and would prefer a more private conversation, drop us a line at firstname.lastname@example.org and one of our admins will be in contact with you.
Here at SFN, the writers strive to bring you interesting, insightful, and accurate information…while balancing real jobs and family obligations. If I misinterpreted the NCAA rules, then it is no one’s fault but mine and I apologize. We will keep everyone informed as we receive more information on this very important topic.